Tech Free Sunday

Standard

I just started reading a new book, “Calm, Cool and Connected: 5 Digital Habits for a More Balanced Life” by Arlene Pellicane. The first chapter asked the question “do you find it difficult to sit through church without touching your phone?” I said, “YES!!!” My first thought was, of course I touch my phone I use my Bible app. Then I remembered something, I own a physical Bible. Actually, I own several. A big fat study Bible. A pocket Bible. My trimline Bible in a case with a carrying handle. And many more. I decided to bring my trimline Bible on Sunday morning. What a concept!

As the sermon began, I pulled out my phone. I did use it to download the pastor’s notes. (They actually use a QR code to get the sermon notes/fill-ins.) After writing in the fill-ins, I put my phone back into my purse and zipped it shut. Did I pay more attention? Yes. Did I feel a need to look at my phone? Yes. Did I give into the temptation? Nope. It liked following along in my Bible rather than the scripture on the screen overhead or on my phone. Also, I made some notes in my Bible too. I haven’t done that in ….. no clue how long. I liked the feel of the Bible in my hand as I walked in and out of the church. I used the pocket on the Bible cover to hold my sermon notes and pen. I found I was more connected to the entire morning by this small change.

Is there anything wrong with using the Bible app on your phone? Not at all. For me, I don’t stay on that app though. I wander to my emails, text messages and Facebook. As the hymn says, “prone to wander, Lord I feel it.” I felt it. The sermon is only 30-45 minutes. I used to be able to focus that long. I want to regain that attention span in my life. Will my thoughts wander like my fingers to a new app? Probably. Can I refocus them and retrain my brain? Yes. You see, I like our pastor and his teaching. I want to listen. I want to learn. I want to write in my Bible. So I’m going to be old school for a while and keep my phone zipped in my purse.

If you find yourself answering the question “do you find it difficult to sit through church without touching your phone?” with a resounding YES as I did, try for a tech free Sunday. See if you can regain your 45 minute attention span. I think it will inspire you. It did me.

Dream Big!

6 thoughts on “Tech Free Sunday

  1. Liked this one and totally agree it’s hard to leave the phone alone. Your comment that you like our pastor and his teachings leaves me wondering who you’re talking about here? Subliminal missing Scott Daniels? Big hug, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

