Phil

Standard

You may be asking yourself who is Phil? I’m referencing Philippians in the Bible which is a letter to those living in Philippi. Recently I have been reflecting on chapter 4 verse 7, “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

I craved peace. Not peace and quiet, even though that is nice too. I sought a deep abiding peace. A calm in the midst of whatever. A solace. An oasis. A place of calm. A quietness in my mind. You know those days, or weeks, when you can’t let it go? Your thoughts keep returning to concerns and/or fears.

I asked my prayer group to pray for me. I prayed myself. When I awoke the next morning, overwhelmed by the presence of peace, I freaked out.

Why was I so calm? The calm before the storm? I must feel good because something bad is coming.

I asked for it but when I got it, I couldn’t accept it. I questioned it for a large part of my morning, then I remembered Phil 4:7.

My prayer was answered and I was missing it. When something transcends understanding, it means it is beyond comprehension. You can receive it. You can accept it. You can sit in it. You can thank God for it. Yet, you can’t quite figure it out.

When I was pregnant with my first-born, I woke up without morning sickness one day. I didn’t celebrate the lack of a queasy tummy but freaked out and called my doctor. What’s wrong with the baby? I don’t feel sick today. The doctor assured me all was well and I should enjoy the day. I didn’t. I worried all day. When I woke up the next morning, feeling sick again, I finally let the worry go. However, I had missed a day where I physically felt great because I couldn’t let go of the concern that something was wrong.

Just like when I felt peace the other day, I nearly missed it. I finally understood peace that you can’t understand. It means, just accept it. Go with it. Have a good day where your cares are lifted and your burden is light. You see, that is a promise from God.

In Matthew 11:28-30 Jesus says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for you souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden in light.”

My day was easy and my burden was light. He answered my prayer. He honored His promise. Once I realized it, I relaxed into it. I stopped striving for understanding and just let myself have a good day. When my thoughts crowded my mind again the next day, I sought the same peace. He provided it again and again. I just had to ask and receive.

Stop trying to understand. Come to the one who lifts our burdens to find rest and peace. Transcend, by definition, means to rise above. So let’s rise above our burdens and busy minds and accept peace, His peace.

Dream Big!

12 thoughts on “Phil

  1. I experienced that peace when my daughter went through a surgery. My mother felt that peace and asked that she be baptized so that she could have the same thing in her heart. Praise God for giving us the peace that this world can not offer us.

  2. Deanna Stacy

    Wow, this is powerful! And resting in the peace that comes is part of it. I’m so glad you experienced that fullness, Deb. God gave you a gift through your trial. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

