Praying the News

Standard

I woke up to news of the horrific Las Vegas massacre. My heart is heavy. My mind can’t release it. I am in constant prayer. I shared with my kids at breakfast what happened. I wanted them to be prayerful today. Facebook is full of people saying “pray for Las Vegas.” What does that look like? How do we effectively pray for this tragedy? How can we help from far away?

Pray for the families and friends of those who lost loved ones. At least 50 people died. The numbers may increase as surgeries and attempted recovery happens. We can pray that those grieving will draw near to God. If they don’t know God, we can pray they will find Him through this painful time. We can pray the following verse for them.

Psalm 34:18 says The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

Pray for those who are physically wounded and fighting for their lives. There are many who were shot and had surgery to save their lives. We can pray for God to heal them.

Psalm 6:2 says Have mercy on me, Lord, for I am faint; heal me, Lord, for my bones are in agony.

Pray for those who were there and survived. Their hearts will be troubled for a long time.

Psalm 25:17 saysRelieve the troubles of my heart and free me from my anguish.”

Pray for the first responders. They had to witness some horrific things.

Psalm 18:6 says In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.

Pray for God to be real to anyone impacted by this. We are all shaken today. We are scared. We are mad. We are confused. We are reeling. We need an anchor. We need hope. We need something, someone to cling to. We need God. He’s there for us. He’s there for those who don’t yet know Him. He’s there for the lady you talk to in the grocery store about this. He’s there for the man cursing God’s name today for allowing this to happen. He’s there for the child who witnessed death at a concert. He’s there. How can we give God and His hope to others?

Be bold today. Don’t just shake your head and say this is overwhelming. Speak truth. Speak love. Speak healing. Speak hope. Share one of the verses above with someone. Pray with the lady in line at the grocery store. Tell her you are overwhelmed but God provided you with peace this morning as you turned to Him in prayer. Tell someone God loves them, He sent His son to die on the cross for their disobedience to God but rose again to life and to give them eternal life. Jesus is our way to peace in chaos.

Our world is chaos. Evil reigns in the hearts of men and women. The man who did this had evil in him. So do I. So do you. We aren’t slaves to it anymore. We can live rightly because of God’s presence in our life.

Romans 6:18 – You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.

Today, spend time reading God’s word, the Bible. Let it bring you peace. The Psalms are a great place to find comfort. If you want to know more about how to know God deeper, email me. Let’s talk. I can’t handle what happened in Vegas. I am grateful I have a source of hope and help because I am intimately connected to the God of the universe who can comfort me, guide me, and keep my heart in prayer all day.

Dream Big! Pray Big!

Leave a Reply

