Re-engage

Standard

It’s over 100 degrees today (October 23). It’s too hot to do much of anything. I did my shopping early then holed up in my air-conditioned home to finish laundry. However, it is a good day to sip iced tea and reflect. You see, the past few weeks I chose to re-engage. I dove back into three areas of life that have been a bit weak lately: my brain, my heart to serve and my need for fellowship.

As a mom of two teens and a tween, my brain is maxed out. I have to stay one step ahead of each of them. I need to predict their next moves. I don’t get enough sleep because they like to stay up later than I do and I often get a “Mom, can you help?” after I’m all tucked in. To re-engage my brain, is a difficult task. When I’m not “on” as mommy, I kinda wanna check-out. Yet, I took on the challenge to re-educate myself in computer languages with a possibility of re-entering the workforce. (What is it with my use of “re” today?). For those who don’t know, my degree is in Information and Computer Science with a minor in Mathematics. I worked for 11 years as a computer programmer. The cool thing is that my brain jumped right back into learning mode. Learning brings me joy. I am pleasantly surprised that my passion is still there.

Jumping back into service isn’t as easy as reading a textbook. It required me to share my heart with the pastors at my church. It required me to “figure out” my new area of service. I see many possible areas I can go into. However, I only want to step into serving where God wants to use me. I’m waiting on His go ahead in a few possible places. On a smaller scale though, I did take on organizing games for our Trunk or Treat event this Sunday October 29 from 4-6 p.m. at 121 Alice Street, Arcadia. Shameless plug to get you to join us. It’s truly fun to organize and plan. Moments of stress are outweighed by the pleasure of using my organizational gift to help serve my church and community.

My last area of re-engagement is in fellowship. I have friends I hang with. I just had a girls night out actually. By fellowship, I mean connecting with the people of my church and being known in my place of worship. I have been a part of this church for almost a year. I recognize faces and even remember a few names but mostly that is the extent of my connection. This past Sunday, our pastor’s wife hosted a luncheon for women in our church. I went. I didn’t immediately make a new BFF but I met some wonderful ladies who I hope to say hi to next Sunday and beyond. A few women I met, I wanted to talk more with. Possible friendships may grow from those encounters. What a joy to be able to be a part of a group of women who all love God. I am grateful I chose to step out of my comfort zone and fellowship.

What area of your life do you need to re-engage? Think about it. Pray about it. Then, act on it.

Dream Big! Pray Big!

Leave a Reply

