I Release

Standard

I started a new rhythm in my life today. A new prayer during my tea with God time. It’s simple in words, yet hard to live out.

I release everything and everyone to You

I read about this in a devotional by John Eldredge’s Wild at Heart ministry entitled “Union with God.” To gain union with God (which is God’s desire), you need to release everything that is “taking up room in your soul.” I have so much taking up room in my soul every day. To start my day with a fresh soul that is not cluttered with care, sounds refreshing. I can release my kids, my work, my friendships, my dreams, my future, my ….. everything. So I prayed. Two things struck me after I prayed this prayer.

One – I need to release myself to God as well. I was focused on all the cares in this world and of those I love when I released. I need to let myself be open to what He has for my day. I need to leave my agenda at His feet. I often leave pockets of space in my weekend schedule. I like room to chill and see what unfolds. This is how my soul needs to be – left open for God to fill it as He desires. Releasing myself led me to tears. I physically felt my shoulders relax and my heart sing a bit. I looked up at the mountain view and thanked God.

Two – I need to not grab it back. Release can only work when we don’t hold on. Oxford dictionary had two definitions that spoke to me.

  1. allow or enable to escape from confinement; set free.
  2. allow (something) to move, act, or flow freely.

Christ came to set us free. To release us from bondage to sin. This releasing into the safety of His arms brings freedom.

So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. ~ John 8:36

The second definition made me think of the Holy Spirit. I know it doesn’t work this way but the image I had is my soul cluttered with all this stuff making it difficult for the spirit to move around in there. To guide me, to act, to flow freely. Release means that the Holy Spirit can freely move and act in my life. This is how my day can reflect God’s plans and desires.

Release is such a powerful, all encompassing word. It’s my new next step. What is your next step? Spending time with Jesus daily? Reading His Word? Release?

Dream Big! Pray Big!

Leave a comment